Trial Attorney – Representing Clients Accused Of Theft
Norman Theft Crimes Lawyer – Protecting The Rights Of The Accused
- Our award-winning criminal defense attorneys are known for winning not guilty verdicts for their clients.
- Judges and District Attorneys respect our lawyers because they know that we are one of the top law firms in the state.
- Every attorney at Worden Law Firm will relentlessly pursue the best possible outcome in your case.
- Find out what it’s really like to work with a lawyer at our firm by reading some of our online reviews.
- When you’re ready to discuss your case, call our office to set up a free consultation with an honest and aggressive lawyer.
Theft, which is also known as larceny, is committed any time a person wrongfully takes another person’s property with no intention to return it to its rightful owner. If you have been accused of committing theft, it’s important to speak to a criminal defense attorney in Norman, Oklahoma right away. Call or email Worden Law Firm today to discuss your charges.
What Are The Penalties For Theft Charges in Oklahoma?
In Oklahoma, theft can either be charged as petit larceny or grand larceny. The crime is considered petit larceny if the property that was stolen is valued at $1,000 or less. Petit larceny is a misdemeanor charge. However, the crime is considered grand larceny if the value of the stolen property is over $1,000. Grand larceny is a felony charge and punishable by 1-5 years in prison and up to $5,000 in fines.
Anyone who is convicted of petit larceny can be ordered to pay a fine between $10 and $500. Defendants can also be sentenced to spend up to six months in the county jail. If the crime involved shoplifting from a business, the defendant can also be ordered to reimburse the store owner for the cost of the stolen items if they can no longer be sold.
What Are The Shoplifting Penalties For Repeat Offenders?
Shoplifting is typically charged as petit larceny since the value of stolen items is usually less than $500. However, the penalties that shoplifters face can vary depending on their prior criminal record. First-time offenders can spend up to 30 days in county jail and be ordered to pay a fine of up to $500.
If this is your second offense, the court will order you to spend a minimum of 30 days behind bars and pay up to $1,000 in fines. If this is your third or subsequent shoplifting offense, you will face 2-5 years of imprisonment.
Call Worden Law Firm to Schedule A Free Consultation With Our Theft Defense Lawyers
Have you been charged with shoplifting or petit larceny? If so, it’s in your best interest to seek legal representation from the team at Worden Law Firm right away. Our team has over 21 years of combined experience representing the accused in Cleveland County. Let us fight to defend your rights and seek justice on your behalf. Some of our many practice areas include theft crimes, drug charges, juvenile crimes, expungement, and family law.
During the initial consultation, a member of our team will answer your questions and review our legal fees. Please schedule a free consultation by calling 405-360-8036 or filling out the general contact form on our website today.